Bombay Brides

Christian weddings in India's biggest city

Vintage Wedding ~ Gracy & Patrick Pereira

The first time I saw a photo of my grandparents, Gracy and Patrick on their wedding day, I was struck with disbelief. I didn’t recognise the debonair couple in the old, faded, black and white photo at all.

This was largely due to the fact that when I was shown their wedding photo, my grandparents were approaching their 90s in age and my grandma especially, was in ill-health. The couple in the photo appeared to be so incredibly young and from an entirely different era.

Then again, the world, and India in particular, was incredibly different in the 1940s. Grooms wore hats and gloves and brides wore lace that was usually hand-woven. Knowing my grandmother, who was a seamstress – stitching being a common pursuit among women in those days, they probably also stitched their own gowns. (My grandmother however, from what my aunt reveals, began stitching wedding gowns after marriage.)

Gracy Peter Sequeira and Patrick Pereira, both East Indian+ married on February 20, 1944 at the church of St. Francis Xavier, Giriz – a small parish in a small town called Bassein (Vasai) north of Bombay. India was then in the last stages of the fight for independence from the British rulers, and Vasai was then just a small dot on the map.

It is remarkable to note that even in those tumultuous days, my grandparents dressed in a black suit and white bridal gown – a decidedly Western choice of attire – and from what can be seen from the photo below, very colonial in appearance. Not much seems to have changed between then and now where bridal wear among the Christians of Mumbai is concerned.

The photo below was clicked by one Francis Dias, a photo artist from Bassein. My father believes his studio used to be located in the Tarkhad area of Vasai.

An interesting thing I learned about my grandparents while writing this post was that their marriage was a love match and not the arranged match as I thought was  the norm in those days. Turns out, I knew less about my own Nana and Nanadaddy (try asking about your own grandparents’ wedding and marvel at what you’ll uncover).

My dad’s eldest sister told us about an unusual custom that my Nana had to follow at the time of her marriage.

A resident of Small Giriz village, Nana was raised in a sprawling joint family that occupied a single house in the village. Her cousin, Polycarp Sequeira also lived in the same house and was to marry eight days before my Nana. While their wedding was celebrated in the same pendal+ in front of the house, they had to use separate doors to exit it.

As per the custom back then, two people about to get married could not pass through the same door. Separate doors were constructed for each person with one door being blocked on the other’s wedding day.

Today, people no longer share pendals but couples about to marry avoid entering another person’s wedding house if their first banns have been announced in the church. This custom prevails and is particularly unfortunate when it involves cousins or friends as one is always prevented from enjoying the other’s wedding.

I learned quite a bit while doing the research for this post, as my grandparents are no longer alive and I had to ask my family for help. My aunt and father were most helpful in providing me with sufficient information. I urge you to speak to your own parents and grandparents and find out about their weddings. Who knows, you may discover the most fascinating stories about your family!

If they married in and around Mumbai, feel free to contact me to share any old wedding photos of your family members on this space. History is an enchanting thing and photos of Christian couples from days gone by are very rare, as are the stories attached to them.

Note: Look up the word marked with this symbol in the glossary. For terms and conditions on using the photo and information contained in this post, please visit the Need Help Browsing? Page.

6 comments on “Vintage Wedding ~ Gracy & Patrick Pereira

  1. Reema Prasanna (@ScrollsNInk)
    November 22, 2012

    What a lovely post Reen. You’re doing such great work compiling this stuff!

    • Ree
      November 29, 2012

      Thank you, Reem! You know me, history makes me happy.

  2. Prakash Tendulkar
    November 23, 2012

    Gracie Auntie and Patrick Uncle was a wonderful couple. I thank Almighty God that I had an opportunity to meet them and share their happiness.

    • Ree
      November 29, 2012

      They too remembered you with much fondness, Prakash Uncle. Pleased you enjoyed reading the post.

  3. Sunil
    December 11, 2012

    Reena you are doing a wonderful work by your research, I’m sure it must be helping a lot of brides to find things which would have otherwise taken forever. I’m happy to see Nanny & Mama Daddy featuring in your vintage weddings section. I loved it.

  4. Ajit D'souza
    January 22, 2013

    Hello Reena, I am from Bhuigaon Parish.. Next to Giriz.. Glad to see the photo and writeup .. thanks .. I had my parents wedding photo (married in 1971) but lost it.. feeling so bad for that .. good efforts :)

Leave a Reply

The Bombay Bride Community

Credits

Header image: Hannah, a bride from South India, photographed by Bhagirathy Samudram Background: DinPattern's Aloha Turkey
